I am always trying to figure out how to make writing a bigger part of my life, but without being able to quit a day job. Working it in around other responsibilities is hard. There just don’t seem to be enough hours in the day. But also I have this personal habit of quitting when things get hard or boring. I felt like I was going around in circles with my writing and that I didn’t have the hours I needed in order to make something really good.

So I decided to try something else. In April, I started training for a half marathon. I know that you don’t know me, but trust me when I say that this was hugely unlike me. I’ve never really been a runner before. If you’d asked me even a year ago if I would run a half marathon I would have laughed. The whole thing was kind of weird. I did a couple of short fun runs (a 5k and a 5 mi) and then I was hooked. The 5k was easy and fun and my friends wanted to do it. The 5 mile run was different. I’d been jogging a little bit before it in order to get ready. When the night of the run came around, I walked most of it with my husband and another  friend, but by the end, we just decided we wanted to be done. We ran a whole mile without getting all that winded.

After that, things happened really fast. I don’t know how we decided that we were going to do a half marathon. A big group of my co-workers were also training for it, so I think that helped. I’ve been training ever since. I’m actually pretty proud of myself. I’ve dropped 10 pounds, I can run for a few miles without having to rest, and I just feel healthier.

So what’s the key? And what can I learn from this to apply to writing? Well, it’s sure nice to have a group of people to help you feel motivated! And it is kind of awesome what you can accomplish if you stop overthinking and just do the thing you want to do!

