I just started reading this great book called It’s a Wonderful Lie (edited by Emily Franklin). It is a wonderful (as you might guess from the title) collection of essays written by women who are presumably close to my age. They all talk about real life as a twenty-something. I love it! I feel so inspired and so relieved to know that I am not the only one who feels like I am floundering around like a big dope with no idea how to get from where I am to where I would like to be.
The women in this book are all writers so far, too. I love that even more because it is further confirmation that I speak the same language that they do. They make mention of the other jobs they’ve had and how they never felt the fit like they do when it comes to writing. I totally get that. I feel so energized when I write something that captures a feeling I’m trying to describe. I also love the concept of working in my pajamas.

But it made me think of how I feel like I have two personalities almost. One is my professional “real world job” personality. It is the one that considers the options available in education that would build on my degree and be relevant to the field I’m already in. There’s another, more secret part of me who knows that the whole education thing is just a stop-gap. As soon as I can, I’m jumping that ship and settling in with my lappy on a more permanent basis.

Anyway, I have just been thinking about it all day. I love knowing that it is okay that I still haven’t finished a book. At least I am working on it, right? Someday, I’ll get there. In the meantime though, I just need to keep pressing on.

As Belva Davis said,

Do not be afraid of the space between your dreams and reality. If you can dream it, you can make it so.”

Boy, can I dream it.

